About Torch Run


The Law Enforcement Torch Run® for Special Olympics Virginia is divided into 18 regions. Regions 1-13 and Region 18 are geographically divided; Region 14 encompasses the Virginia State Police and Regions 15-17 encompass the Virginia Department of Corrections. Each region has a region director, who is responsible for all aspects of the Torch Run in their geographic region, and a liaison.

 

Additionally, there are four Special Olympics Virginia staff members who help facilitate the Torch Run activities in the 18 regions. See below for region director and liaison contacts, as well as the Special Olympics Virginia staff contacts and the regions with which they work.

 

You can also view the Torch Run Executive Council contacts or the complete Special Olympics Virginia staff directory.

 

REGION REGION DIRECTOR
REGION LIAISON SPECIAL OLYMPICS CONTACT
1
Northern Virginia
Chief Ed Roessler Jr.
Fairfax County Police Dept.
703.246.2195
edwin.roesslerjr@fairfaxcounty.gov
Lt. Marc Mitchell
Fairfax County Police Dept.
703.280.0701
marc.mitchell@fairfaxcounty.gov
Ellen Head
703.359.4301
ehead@specialolympicsva.org
2
Potomac
Sheriff David P. Decatur, Jr.
Stafford Co. Sheriff's Office
540.658.4450
ddecatur@staffordcova.gov
Sgt. Darrell English
Stafford Co. Sheriff's Office
540.658.4450
denglish@co.stafford.va.us
Aly Truesdale
804.726.3023
atruesdale@specialolympicsva.org
3
Hampton Roads
Sheriff Kenneth W. "Ken" Stolle
Virginia Beach Sheriff's Office
757.385.4073
kstolle@vbso.net
Lt. Kathy Vargas
Virginia Beach Sheriff's Office
757.385.4379
kvargas@vbso.net
Meghan Massie
757.962.1575
mmassie@specialolympicsva.org
4
Southside
Colonel Jeffrey W. Faries
Colonial Heights Police Department
804.520.9311
fariesj@colonialheightsva.gov

OPEN POSITION!
Aly Truesdale
804.726.3023
atruesdale@specialolympicsva.org
5
Central
Chief David McCoy
University of Richmond PD
804.289.8718
dmccoy2@richmond.edu
Sgt. Randy Baran
University of Richmond PD
804.289.8718

Aly Truesdale
804.726.3023
atruesdale@specialolympicsva.org
6
Upper Shenandoah
Superintendent James Whitley
Northwestern Reg. Adult Detention Center
540.665.6374
jwhitley@co.frederick.va.us
Jason Clark
Northwestern Reg. Adult Detention Center
jaclark@fcva.us
Ellen Head
703.359.4301
ehead@specialolympicsva.org
7
Lower Shenandoah
Sheriff Bryan Hutcheson
Rockingham County Sheriff's Office
540.564.3838
bhutcheson@rockinghamcountyva.gov

Sgt. Trey Atwood
Rockingham County Sheriff's Office
540.574.5009
aatwood@rockinghamcountyva.gov
Matt Camire
434.851.9145
mcamire@specialolympicsva.org
8
Piedmont
Chief Ron Lantz
Albemarle Co. Police Department
434.296.5807
lantzr@albemarle.org
Officer Laura Proffitt
Albermarle Co. Police Department
434.531.6879
blundonl@albemarle.org

Matt Camire
434.851.9145
mcamire@specialolympicsva.org

9
South Central
Sheriff Michael S. Mondul
Danville Sheriff's Office
434.799.5135
mondums@danvilleva.gov
Sgt. Michelle Edwards
Danville Sheriff's Office
434.799.5135
medward@danvilleva.gov
Matt Camire
434.851.9145
mcamire@specialolympicsva.org

10
Roanoke Valley
Chief Mark Sisson
Christiansburg Police Dept.
540.382.3131
msisson@christiansburg.org
Inv. Maureen Dietrich McClanahan
Christiansburg Police Dept.
540.382.3131
mdietrich@christiansburg.org
Matt Camire
434.851.9145
mcamire@specialolympicsva.org

11
Southwest
Sheriff Fred Newman
Washington Co. Sheriff's Office
276.676.6001
fnewman@washso.org
Deputy Scott Sexton
Washington Co. Sheriff's Office
276.676.6001
sextonglenda@yahoo.com
Matt Camire
434.851.9145
mcamire@specialolympicsva.org

12
Mountain
Sheriff R. D. Oakes
Wise County Sheriff's Office
276.328.3756
sheriff@wiseso.net
Lt. Charles Sanders
Wise County Sheriff's Office
276.328.3566
csanders@wiseso.net
Matt Camire
434.851.9145
mcamire@specialolympicsva.org

13
Eastern Shore
Sheriff David L. Doughty Jr.
Northhampton County Sheriff's Office
757.678.0460
ddoughty@co.northampton.va.us
Inv. Terry Thomas
Northhampton County Sheriff's Office
757.678.3562
tthomas@co.northampton.va.us
Meghan Massie
757.962.1575
mmassie@specialolympicsva.org
14
State Police
Captain Steven L. Chumley
Virginia State Police
804.674.
steven.chumley@vsp.virginia.gov
Sgt. Michelle Anaya
Virginia State Police
757.424.6827
michelle.anaya@vsp.virginia.gov

Aly Truesdale
804.726.3023
atruesdale@specialolympicsva.org
15
Dept. of Corrections (East)
Director Harold W. Clarke
Virginia Dept. of Corrections
804.674.3119
Charles Sims
Virginia Dept. of Corrections
434.505.3045
charles.sims@vadoc.virginia.gov
Meghan Massie
757.962.1575
mmassie@specialolympicsva.org
16
Dept. of Corrections
(Central)
Director Harold W. Clarke
Virginia Dept. of Corrections
804.674.3119
Charles Sims
Virginia Dept. of Corrections
434.505.3045
charles.sims@vadoc.virginia.gov
Aly Truesdale
804.726.3023
atruesdale@specialolympicsva.org
17
Dept. of Corrections
(West)
Director Harold W. Clarke
Virginia Dept. of Corrections
804.674.3119
Charles Sims
Virginia Dept. of Corrections
434.505.3045
charles.sims@vadoc.virginia.gov
Matt Camire
434.851.9145
mcamire@specialolympicsva.org
 18
 Peninsula
 OPEN POSITION!
OPEN POSITION! Aly Truesdale
804.726.3023
atruesdale@specialolympicsva.org

Join us on Facebook

Join us on Twitter

Sponsors

Enterprise logo